Arise My Love

“My beloved speaks and says to me: “Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away,” Song of Solomon 2:10 (ESV)

It’s awkward to think Jesus wants us like a lover wants their love. Yet, my call to you is to believe He longs for you.

The longings of grace make it beautiful and desirable. Who doesn’t want to be loved? Who doesn’t long to hear beautiful words?

Looking to Jesus I see beauty; looking to me, not so much.

Perhaps:

Perhaps the reason we can’t speak beautifully to others is we don’t believe Jesus would ever say, “Arise my love, my beautiful one, and come away,” to us.

A place of beauty:

We become beautiful to others when we speak beautifully to them – in ways that ministers grace. Try it at home with your spouse and children. Tell them what makes them beautiful to you. Focus on their gifts rather than their faults. See beauty rather than defects.

Why:

But everyone has so many faults. You may wonder who will point out their weaknesses if you don’t. Really???

Why should we search for their beauty? If you don’t search for beauty all you’ll see is ugliness. At least that’s the trap I usually fall into. Plus, grace makes us beautiful. Right???

Fringes:

I’m on the fringes of believing Jesus calls me “my beautiful one.” I feel there’s a whole new world that waits if I can just embrace the person I am in grace. Believe that grace has already made you the beautiful person you long to be – the new creation. Doubt blocks that person. Faith sets you free.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Living, Faith, Freedom, Grace, Love

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Arise My Love”

  1. Yvette Says:

    I like your posts, Dan. I’m glad you are writing more often!

  2. teri Says:

    Another good one……convicting and applicable! Love what your doing


Leave a Reply

