Overcoming Narrowitis

Narrow Christians think other Christians should be like them. That’s what makes them narrow.

Some are all about evangelism and others about fellowship. Still others are about caring for the needy. Then there is the “righteous group” who are all about truth and teaching. Diversity isn’t the issue, arrogance is. When we believe others should be like us we become arrogant asses. (Ass is in the King James Bible)

I’ve been an arrogant ass many times. I judge others by my gift, for example. I think my gift – which expresses my way – is the best. All others are less important than mine. In arrogance, I think mercy-showing is fine but my way is better.

Different is different not necessarily better.

If legalistic ungraceful believers had their way, the whole body would look like them, ugly!

An illustration of diversity and humility:

Galatians 2:8-9 (ESV) … for he who worked through Peter for his apostolic ministry to the circumcised (Jews) worked also through me for mine to the Gentiles … and when James and Cephas (Peter) and John … perceived the grace that was given to me, they gave the right hand of fellowship to Barnabas and me, that we should go to the Gentiles and they to the circumcised. (Diversity)

The power of the church is in diversity and openness not narrowness. Grace is wide and free. Law is bondage.

On more step:

Grace goes beyond allowing, it enables. It’s one thing to say, “That’s great for you, go serve the gentiles.” It’s graceful to say, “How can I help you on your way.” Allowing is passive. Enabling is active. I don’t want to allow diversity. I want to enable it.

The desire to make people into our image is natural. Passion to help people become the people God made is graceful.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Living, Freedom, Grace, Law, Leadership, Pride

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

