How to Stop Wasting Time Fixing Weaknesses

God gives gift(s) to all believers.

Among other things gifts are enabling.

Live in your enabling. Stop wasting time improving your weaknesses. (Notice I said weaknesses not sins)

One goal of gifts in the Church is your uniqueness compensates for and rounds out the weaknesses or inadequacies of others. Don’t shoot to be well-rounded, that’s average. Average is next to mediocre.

Shoot for unique. Live in and leverage your God given abilities. Celebrate your strengths rather than fix your weaknesses. When you do, you honor your maker and you’re more effective. It’s not arrogant.

It’s arrogant to think you can function at your best without the strengths of those around you. It’s humble to think that God has a place in the body that only you can fill.

God made you for a purpose. He gifted you to fulfill that purpose. Live in your gifting, your ability, your strength.

The concept of body-life suggests you aren’t good at everything. Spend time being great at one thing. Stop working to be good at many things.

Push back 1:

Doesn’t the Bible say, “When I am weak, then I am strong.” Shouldn’t we live in our weaknesses?

You’re mistaken if you think that means you should spend your time emphasizing what you can’t do. Additionally, weakness passages aren’t an encouragement to waste time fixing your weaknesses.

If you examine the “weakness” passages, you’ll see they are about weaknesses that come to us from suffering and adversity. It’s silly to think we should try to make ourselves weak. Make yourself dependent yes, but weak, no.

Weakness passages are not an encouragement to live apart from your gifting.

Push back 2:

Won’t you become arrogant if you live in your enabling? You won’t if you are thankful to God for how He made you. Gratitude defeats arrogance.

**********

I’m just fleshing these ideas out. I’m interested in your thoughts, pro or con. At this point, I believe we are most useful when we live in our giftedness (strength/ability).

The concept of strengthen strengths while not wasting time fixing weaknesses isn’t perfect. I think it’s a central concept. Perhaps you can think of exceptions or applications.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Living, Faith, Pride, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “How to Stop Wasting Time Fixing Weaknesses”

  1. Amy Jones Says:

    I appreciate this. It spoke to me that I don’t have to be like every Tom, Dick , or Harry. I can be me and use the gifts God gave me and improve on them. This also shows me I have some gifts that I have been putting by the wayside and I need to do something with them.

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Thanks for your note Amy. Its exciting to believe God made us for a purpose and that He also provided the basic tools to achieve His purpose. I think it’s freeing and motivating.

  2. Ron Robison Says:

    Do we have weaknesses in God’s eyes or is weakness seen by people judging or measuring against each other?

    “God don’t make junk” David Ring

    I am what God made me to be, yes I need to acknowledge my blindspots and continually discover the role God wants me to play on His team. His team is comprised of wonderfully diverse members.

    My roles are best played out through my God given strengths and acknowledging others strengths. Humility comes through strength in knowing I am nothing without Christ. Arrogance comes through thinking I am more than God wants me to be. I don’t have many answers only more questions for the journey. Thanks for helping me think about this today.

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Hi Ron,

      The point of comparison is important in this discussion. On one hand it’s pretty hard to know who “we” are without something to compare, On the other hand, comparisons usually lead to arrogance or discouragement. Neither take us where we need to go.

      Enjoy the journey,

      Dan

  3. Sean Says:

    Grasping the distinction between “consciously chasing dependence” versus “consciously chasing weakness” is a real challenge Im observing in modern evangelical church.

    It seems that many people adopt an over the top idea of what Christ-like humility looks like… When I read through the gospels I don’t see Jesus self-depricating to the point of of self-annihilation, nor do I see him reveling in how he has unique abilities better than those around him.

    In the well-meaning attempt to avoid at all costs being seen as arrogant, so many believers go way too far the other way – over-emphasising and thereby feeding their weaknesses, consigning them to cycles of quiet frustration and unlocked potential. It seems that grace as ever guides us towards the godly wisdom that usually resides in the middle – On the one hand, appreciating the trouble that God has gone to in making us unique and living in gratitude for our strengths, which we use accomplish his purposes. On the other hand, walking with a knowledge that we’re far from perfect, that others have their own unique strengths and Christ calls us to value everyone equally as a Child of God.

    Great push-back on the push-backs Dan. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

