A review of “Apocalypse 2012”

John Claeys sent me a copy of his book “Apocalypse 2012 – the Ticking of the End Time Clock” and I’m glad he did.

When I received it, I thought perhaps it might be a book on the order of the “Left Behind” series. It’s isn’t. It’s much meatier. Don’t get me wrong. You don’t need to have a doctorate in prophecy to understand his passion and message. However, his work is well researched, sometimes innovative, thoroughly grace oriented, and dispensational in approach.

It’s not a dry theology and it’s not a fluffy, dramatized page turner either.

John’s passion shines through in his writing. He wants believers to live passionately in view of the imminent return of Jesus. In other words, don’t be caught by surprise, live in the power of urgency and anticipation.

John surprised me on page 27 with his approach to “one shall be taken and the other left.” At that point my interest in his research was peeked.  At that point I began to appreciate John’s commitment to contextual interpretation rather than regurgitating the work of authors from the past.

At another point John surprised me by presenting and defending the idea that the battle of Armageddon takes place at the Mt. of Olives. Other surprises include the emergence of the “the man of Sin” from Iraq and an interpretation of Ezekiel 39 around the return of Jesus. Speaking of Jesus, I particularly enjoyed the interpretation of the judgments in the book of Revelation as spotlights on Christ’s return.

My biggest complaint about “Apocalypse 2012” is the lack of an index of any kind. A book like this cries out for a robust index. However, there is a glossary and thorough end notes for research.

This book can be enjoyed by prophetic newbies and old hands alike. Having said that, I think it leans toward serious readers. Prophecy buffs should grab a copy and dig in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Prophecy

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “A review of “Apocalypse 2012””

  1. Angel Ribo Says:

    Thank you for your wonderful review of John Claeys’ book. I had the joy of sitting under John’s teaching for several years while we attended the same church. I can say that John is one of the most gifted teachers and scholar that I have had the privilege to sit under in my lifetime (59yrs!). His sincere approach to the expositional teaching of scripture with honesty, sincerity and humility has been a great blessing to me and my wife. I certainly echo your comments and heartily recommend his book to any believer who has interest in this special and timely subject.

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Angel,

      Thanks for your comment and recommendation of John and his book. Clearly, his book reflects your comments. He is thorough without being dry, innovative without departing from the text.

      Best to you Angel,

      Dan

  2. Darcie Says:

    Dan,

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this book. I will definitely purchase a copy for myself! I respect your opinion enormously, and having had the blessing of attending your wonderful church while we lived in PA, you taught me much about the true meaning of Grace. I really never understood it before then. So when you say that the tone of this book is “thoroughly Grace oriented”… I’m in!

    Darcie

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Darcie,

      Great to hear from you and I hope things are going well for you in Kentucky. Thank you for your kind words. We miss you.

      If you think of it, after reading Apocalypse 2012, stop in and share your thoughts.

      Grace to you,

      Dan

  3. David Wyatt Says:

    Wow! Thanks bro. Dan! I hadn’t heard of this one! I’m excited now & want a copy! Thanks & God Bless!


Leave a Reply

