Rewritten hymns

My Hope is built

My hope is built on nothing less than my own works and righteousness

I dare not trust in Jesus name but wholly lean on my own fame.

On Dan the solid rock I stand

All other ground is sinking sand

All other ground is sinking sand

Amazing Works

Amazing works how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me

I once was lost but now I’m found

Was blind but now I’m me

*****

Can you rewrite a hymn? Or maybe you have a poem that advocates for salvation by works?

*****

Grace Freak

Dan Rockwell

You can receive Grace Freak in your email. It’s free.  It’s private.  Go to the main page of Grace Freak by clicking the blue banner at the top of this page, look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email address and click subscribe.  Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for a confirmation email.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

11 Comments on “Rewritten hymns”

  1. Angel Ribo Says:

    When I survey my wonderous works, for which the Prince of Glory died,
    Mi richest gain I count all the time and pour more works to build my pride.


  2. Cursed delusion, is Jesus mine?
    O what a struggle for glory divine!
    Works for salvation, earnings from God,
    Born of my spirit, kept by my works.

    This is my story, this is my song,
    In pursuit of salvation all the day long;
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Am I elected or just dead wrong?

    Subjected submission, never at rest;
    I in my good works am confused at best,
    watching and waiting, looking within,
    filled with confusion, lost in self-doubt.

    This is my story, this is my song,
    In pursuit of salvation all the day long;
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Am I elected or just dead wrong?

  3. Jared Young Says:

    I’m confused. Are you saying salvation is by works? I just need a clarification is all thanks!

  4. Dan Rockwell Says:

    Jared,

    Little sarcasm at play here 🙂

    Salvation by grace alone…

    thanks for checking

    Dan


  5. This is hilarious but after the “this is my story, this my song” remake Im not even going to try.

  6. Dan Rockwell Says:

    College student John Gearheart posted this on my facebook page. Love this one:

    O John my God,
    When I in awesome wonder
    Consider all
    The works my Hand hath made,
    I made the stars,
    I hear the mighty thunder,
    Thy pow’r throughout my universe displayed;

    Then sings my soul,

    My Saviour John, to me,
    How great I AM!

    How great I AM!

    Then sings my soul,
    My Saviour John, to me,

    How great I am!

    How great I am!


Leave a Reply

