Terrorist

blows us up

Grace blows us up

Grace is like a terrorist to everyone working to earn right standing with God.  It blows them up.

William Newell said:

“Grace is God acting freely, according to His own nature — as Love; with no promises or obligations to fulfill; and acting of course, righteously — in view of the cross.”

I love talking about “no obligations to fulfill,” because it shocks us and I’m convinced Christian living from beginning to end is a free-grace-based, love relationship with our Maker.

I’m not trying to be set free.  I am set free.  Ed Underwood just reminded me of Rom. 6:14.  He said, “I believe Romans 6:14 is key. And keep in mind; it’s not in the imperative mood–a command, but in the indicative mood–the mood of reality! This isn’t a command; it’s a statement of fact.”  — For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace. ESV

Read one of Ed’s blogs at http://www.jesusmovementblog.com/2010/02/09/growing-or-struggling/.

Grace frees us from focusing on ourselves.  I think it’s time for us to stop talking about how much we are growing and all the sins we don’t do anymore and all the good works we do.  Jesus is the focus of our lives not us.  Grace sets us free to focus on Him.

If you’d like to read more about getting over yourself check out this Christianity today article.  http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2010/februaryweb-only/15-41.0.html.  I heard the author on Moody broadcastings program Prime Time America.  I think he’s right on.

Back to terrorism, nothing blows us up more than grace.  Nothing humbles us more than grace.  Nothing destroys our bent toward trusting in ourselves more than grace.  And on the other hand, nothing lifts us higher than grace.

Grace Freak 

Dan Rockwell

You can receive Grace Freak in your email.  It’s free.  It’s private.  Go to the main page of Grace Freak by clicking the blue banner at the top of this page, look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email and click subscribe.  Your email address is always kept private.  Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for a confirmation email.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Living, Freedom, Grace

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Terrorist”

  1. Ash Says:

    Good stuff, Dan. It’s so easy for me to pull the “look how far I’ve come” card without giving credit where credit is due. Sadly, as the article in Christianity Today reveals, I’m NOT REALLY very far from where I came from–especially when my comparison is to the God-Man, Jesus.

    Pointing towards Christ is always the most helpful thing I can do. My other efforts to clean my act up don’t turn out to be much of an effort, and result in more failure than success.

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Ash,

      Love it when you bring up the standard of comparison. I can always find someone worse than me as a comparison point. For example, I’m a great husband when I compare myself to the alchoholic that beats his wife. But when I compare myself to Jesus, I haven’t quite made it (sarcasm). The deeper question is, how do we deal with our continual falling short? Do we grit our teeth and try harder. Or do we learn to trust Him all over again. Thanks for jumping into the conversation.


Leave a Reply

