Repetitive sins pt. 1

pig

Damn the pigs I'm moving on

I’ve been asked about the problem of repetitive sin in a believers life.  This is the first of several posts I’ll make addressing this thorny issue.

I think we all wish there was a magic pill or secret formula that makes all our sinning stop.

There’s no pill and there’s no secret formula!!

 I’m exposing the dirty little secret that’s frequently swept under the carpet. Sinning is a problem that doesn’t have a magic solution.

Overcoming sin in my life feels like trying to catch a herd of greased pigs. Eventually catching and corralling one doesn’t help much because the rest of the herd stands around jeering at me. And to make matters worse, while I’m trying to coral the next greased oinker, the one I just caught gets away … again!

There’s one response to sin in our lives, confession (1Jn. 1:9).  Confession is simply letting God know that we agree with Him that our sin is wrong.  “God, you’re right, lust is wrong.”

When something you’ve confessed to God brings fresh guilt and shame, rather than reconfession, thank God for forgiveness.  Reconfessing degrades Jesus and doubts God. 

Thanking expresses faith and sets us free.

Spending time obsessing about sins, failures, and frailties is arrogant sinfulness. Frankly, I’ve got something much better to think about.  So I’m turning toward grace and learning to walk by faith again today. Damn the pigs, I’m moving on.

More on confession next time…

Grace Freak

Dan Rockwell 

You can receive Grace Freak in your email.  It’s free.  It’s private.  Go to the main page of Grace Freak by clicking the blue banner at the top of this page, look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email and click subscribe.  Your email address is always kept private.  Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for a confirmation email.

Explore posts in the same categories: Confession, Sin

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Repetitive sins pt. 1”

  1. Zach Wagner Says:

    I have found that when I think about a specific sin that keeps happening over and over again I tend to do it more often! I was told once that the longer we think about it the more we allow it to fester and in turn tempt us. If we acknowledge it but then just move on with our lives we are no longer thinking about the sin. I have found that though it doesn’t prevent it from happening again it does help.

    Thanks Dan for the reminder to thank God and keep moving forward!

  2. Dan Rockwell Says:

    Zack, you are spot on. I think the harder we try NOT to do something the more we tend to do it. The “try not to” life doesn’t work. I’m going to go out and try not to live the try not to life… hahaha

    thanks for jumping in..

    Grace Freak

  3. Justin Weaver Says:

    Dan The Man,

    I think that is really good advice. After thinking a bit, we do tend to sometimes wallow in our sin… “poor me, I screwed up, I can’t believe I did that again” etc. Confessing, asking for forgiveness, and then moving on makes a lot of sense. Wallowing in our own sin is only going to block us from extending Grace to others.

    The bible says that our entire being flows from our heart and that we need to guard our heart (Proverbs 4:23). Not the thing pumping in our chest but the heart of our own soul, the center of who we are. It also says that all sin flows from the heart (Mark 7:20-23). For sin that seems to happen over and over and over again, do you feel that we may need to examine our hearts? Is there something really jacked up in our hearts that is causing us to repeat sin? and should that be ignored? Also, could feeling guilt about sin be a good thing in the fact that that guilt is conviction from God?

    Wow, I asked a lot. 🙂

    J.Weav

    • Dan Rockwell Says:

      Hey Justin…I think that dog will hung! Your questions are important… I think I use them in tomorrows blog on repetitive sins.

      Thanks for interacting and stay tuned!

      Grace Freak


Leave a Reply

