Inadequacy

tornado

Angry tornados

There’ve been times when I felt like life was going along nicely (in control).  Then there were those times…times of the angry tornado.  Angry tornados emerge when I’m feeling inadequate.  Feelings of inadequacy whip tornados into ravenous, frenzied monsters hungry to grind me up and spit my gristly remains on the ash heap. 

Grace and faith are about inadequacy. 

The “nice” times have little to do with grace and faith. 

The stories I’ll tell others won’t be about basking in the sun.  They’ll be stories about riding an angry tornado.  They’ll be stories about the birth and death and rebirth of dreams.  They’ll be stories about letting go of clarity and embracing uncertainty.  These stories begin with, “I didn’t know, I wasn’t sure, and it didn’t make sense.”  They’ll be stories about inadequacy met by grace and faith.

Grace Freak,

Dan Rockwell
www.graceunplugged.org
www.leadershipfreak.wordpress.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith

3 Comments on “Inadequacy”

  1. Wayne Says:

    Thanks Dan, I am hearing the siren warning of an approaching tornado. It brings peace in the storm to know there is always shelter in Christ.

  2. Dan Rockwell Says:

    @ Wayne — Preach it!

  3. Yvette Says:

    Dan…have you read anything by Donald Miller? You might enjoy his latest book called A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life. It’s all about story….


Leave a Reply

