Enjoying new

Old car

We cling to the old

I heard someone explaining how they don’t wear freshly purchased clothing right away.  They buy them and wait for the right time to bring out the good stuff.  It made me laugh to hear this strategy until I realized I embrace a similar one.  I love wearing old ratty clothing.  It’s about more than comfort.  I just don’t want to wear out my good stuff! 

This strategy keeps me in my old stuff. 

The more I think about it, the more I realize we all love preserving newness by not using it.  Here’s another example.  We keep driving the old car so the mileage on the shiny new one stays low.

Clinging to the old may be a great strategy regarding our stuff, but it’s devastating when it comes to living the Christian life.  Paul said it this way, “We are released from the law, having died to that which held us captive, so that we serve in the new way of the Spirit and not in the old way of the written code.”

Christian serving expresses freedom not obligation.  Using the “written code” is below believers.  It may feel safe but it’s deadly.  How might your Christian service actually be expressing obligation?  How might serving become an expression of freedom?

Grace Freak Dan, breaking bondage in 300 words or less.
www.graceunplugged.org
www.leadershipfreak.wordpress.com


[1]The Holy Bible : English standard version. 2001 (Ro 7:5-6). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

Explore posts in the same categories: Grace, Law, Serving

Leave a Reply

